Head scratching pattern matching

For my second project, I decided to go for a patterned fabric.  This fabric!  I think it’s by Kokka, but I got mine from a local crafts shop and it’s from available online.

20140730-083132-30692877.jpg

If you want to, you can try to match the pattern across the seams etc. when you’re using a patterned fabric.  You may not have noticed, but pattern matching isn’t often something you find on shop-bought clothes.  This is mainly to keep the cost down when making clothes (and also a bit of laziness) – matching your pattern usually means you’ll use more fabric.  Here are a few examples, courtesy of my wardrobe.

But, if you do have the time, I promise you, it’s so worth it!

I’m not going to lie – I did find this quite tricky, even though the skirt I’m making is ‘easy’.  It took a full sewing bee session to get my head around it – I didn’t get around to stitching a single thing.  It’s time consuming, but I’m hoping it will get quicker and easier with practice.  And I think I’ve done pretty well so far.  Here is one of my side seams…

20140720-143106-52266671.jpg

…and here is my placket.

20140720-143105-52265594.jpg

Not bad, eh?  All I need to do now is make sure I get all of my buttonholes and buttons in exactly the right spots.  Otherwise, all that hard work will be ruined!

Leave a Reply

