Who’s afraid of the big, bad dress?

It wasn’t all smooth running, but I did it – I made a dress!  A dress that actually fits, somehow.  I’m super pleased with myself.

I decided not to bother with pattern matching for this one because it’s a very higgledy piggledy print, and also because the dress had the added complications of darts and curved side seams.

I made the Megan dress from Love at First Stitch, by Tilly Walnes, off of Tilly and the Buttons.

photo 2 (17)

I’m a tad obsessed with this book at the moment – I think my next project will be a Tilly pattern as well, making it my third in a row.  I’m well on my way to an entire Tilly-fied wardrobe.

Here are some more pictures of my Megan, from a rather hysterical (and windy and dangerous) ‘photo shoot’ with my sister.

We have exciting times coming up.  We start our continuation course at Sunderland College this month, in which we should learn everything we need to know to make a pair of trousers.  I’ve chosen these Sailor Style Pants from Burda.

What craftiness are you getting up to at the moment?

9 thoughts on “Who’s afraid of the big, bad dress?

Leave a Reply

