Fire bad, tree pretty

Have you heard of GISHWHES?  No?  I hadn’t either.  Not until I received a text message from my friend asking whether I could make her some cave girl costumes over the next couple of days.  I’ll explain.

GISHWHES stands for the Greatest International Scavenger Hunt the World Has Ever Seen.  Every summer, GISHWHES compile a list of random acts, the idea being that your team completes as many as possible during the allotted timeframe.  And one of the items on the list this year was to eat lunch dressed as a cave girl.

So, the evening after I received Emily’s text, she delivered these to my house.

photo 1 (11)

They’re hideous, aren’t they?  Fake velvety stuff and faux fur – lovely.  But they were absolutely perfect for cave girl costumes, so I got to work!

Since I only had an evening or two in which to make the costumes, I used the most basic method I could think of to make the dresses.  And luckily the velvety stuff didn’t fray, so I only had to worry about one side seam.  It basically went like this:

  • Cut out a rectangle wide enough to fit around the person you’re making it for (plus some seam allowance) and the desired length.
  • Fold it in half, right sides together
  • Chop the top off at an ‘asymmetrical’ angle, making sure the point is on the open side of the rectangle.
  • Sew the side, leaving enough space to make an armhole and tie the point at the top into a knot.
  • Repeat.

Dresses done.  After that, I made ‘accessories’.  I cut the faux fur into large triangles/jagged shapes and sewed them onto leftover strips of the velvety stuff to make belts and capes.  I also used tiny remnants of the fur to make armbands and headbands.

A couple of hours later, and ta-da – I had two full cave girl costumes.  And I think they looked alright in the end.

photo 3 (7)

Looking good, ladies!  Not bad for an evening’s work.

I might sign up for GISHWHES next year – it sounded like an absolute hoot.

 

6 thoughts on “Fire bad, tree pretty

Leave a Reply

