It’s a love-hate relationship…

I’m having a bit of a love-hate relationship with sewing at the moment.

At home, I’ve been working on ‘easy’ projects that I’ve enjoyed putting together.  I have cut out all two (yes, only two!) pattern pieces to make the Simple t-shirt from The Great British Sewing Bee: Sew Your Own Wardrobe.  [Just a quick side note: chiffon is flipping horrible to cut out!]  I’m looking forward to attempting to use bias binding for the very first time.  I’ve also made almost an entire Delphine skirt from Tilly Walnes’ Love at First Stitch, using an indigo cotton canvas.  All that’s left for that one is to add some buttons on the front to give it a nautical look, and to add some patch pockets on the back.  I’ve never done patch pockets before either so wish me luck.

I heart sewing! 😀

However, at my sewing classes, I’ve moved on to my first ever ‘intermediate’ pattern, which took weeks of brain power before I was able to make my first stitch.

I hate sewing! 😛

I’ve been working on Colette’s Macaron, using the lovely Michael Miller Marionette’s cotton.  First things first, I had to do was decide what size I would be.  Not surprisingly, I had to grade my pattern down from the bust to be smaller at the waist – I had expected this.  The mistakes came in later on.

First mistake.  I decided to make the contrast yoke out of a sheer fabric – instant changes to the instructions for construction.  Cue lots of brain power trying to figure out what I’d have to do differently.

Second mistake.  It then occurred to me that I didn’t particularly want to make the waistband out of the same contrast fabric I’d chosen for the yoke, because then I’d have a visible midriff.  ‘What should I do?  I know!  I’ll just lengthen the bodice piece.  That will be easy enough, right?’  Wrong!  So wrong.  I just could not get my head around lengthening that bodice.  After lots of maths, three different approaches and an entire sewing class, I gave up.  I think I sort of did have it figure out towards the very end, but it occurred to me that if I came across any problems later on they would be twice as hard to solve because my pattern pieces would be completely different.  I landed on making my waistband out of plain white cotton  in the hope that it won’t look that odd.

Then, last week was all about starting to cut out the fabric and making sure all the markings were there.  I discovered tailor’s tacks, which are quite magical.

Finally, this week – week five of a ten week course – I was able to make my first stitches.  And look what happened!  😀

I have bodice pieces!  Bodice pieces that look like they’re going to fit me.  They went together very quickly once I started sewing, and I’m starting to feel really good about Macaron.  I’m back to loving sewing!  I have sewn on the yoke differently to the way Colette have instructed in the pattern, mostly because I thought their way would take longer.  Only time will tell if I’ve made another fatal error there…

What have I learnt?

  1. It’s one thing to make small changes to a pattern, but I’m absolutely not ready for full on pattern hacking.
  2. As much as I want to get a good fit etc., I much prefer the construction process. The paperwork requires so many brainwaves.
  3. Even when I hate sewing, I love to hate it!
2 thoughts on “It’s a love-hate relationship…

Leave a Reply

