Knit Happens

Every fortnight, a merry band of stitchers meet at the Traveller’s Rest (in Witton Gilbert, Durham) for Knit Happens.

IMG_6330

The group was formed by my friend Lucy, who owns a lovely wool shop called Woolaballoo in Hexham.  There are so many beautiful yarns to choose from, as well as all your needles and hooks and notions.  You can also attend workshops so you can learn new techniques ā€“ see the website for all the details.  For Knit Happens, we just get together knit and crochet an chat and laugh, and usually we eat copious amounts of delicious homemade pub grub as well.  Yummy!

We’re all working on different things at the moment.  Some of us are knitting (on a variety of needles) and some of us are crocheting.  Some are quite experienced and some are just starting out.  Here are some pictures of what we’re making ā€“ a couple of blankets, the beginnings of a cushion, socks, hats and snoods.

The blanket I’m working on is from the Attic 24 blog, the Cosy Stripe Blanket.  I just love the colours, and can’t wait to finish it.  However, as I discovered at last night’s Knit Happens, it’s getting a tad warm to be sat with an ever-growing blanket on your lap!  I may need to put it aside until the winter.  But, never fear ā€“ as every self-respecting crafter knows, it simply isn’t enough to have just one project on the go, and I have many works in progress I can pick up.  šŸ™‚

And, last night I came away with a new sewing project too!  Lucy has asked whether I can line this (soon to be bag) for her.  It will be interesting because I don’t have a pattern to work from, so I’ll just have to make it up as I go.  I think I have a pretty clear idea of how Iā€™m going to tackle it.  Regardless, it’s so nerve-wracking knowing that if I fluff it up I’ll have ruined Lucy’s bag.  Keep everything crossed!  I’ll let you know how I get along with it.

If you live in the Durham area and want to pop in sometime, please do!  The next one will be on April 29th (and it’ll be every fortnight thereafter).

Leave a Reply

