Agnes top

I have a confession to make – I’ve always been terrified of sewing with jersey!  I mean, people throw around phrases like ‘negative ease.  How was I supposed to know what that kind of stuff meant?  A while back, I did make a Simple Sew Brigitte dress from jersey, but it was very thick with very little stretch and I didn’t have to worry about fitting.  Since then, I have avoided jersey fabrics, despite rather liking them.  However, a couple of months ago, I won two metres of fabric from Girl Charlee in a giveaway over at So, Zo, and I thought the best way to show my appreciation was to just take the plunge and make something with my spoils.

I decided on the Tilly and the Buttons Agnes Top because I thought it would suit the fabric (Got Dog Almond Blue), and because I thought it was quite a versatile top that would match a lot of my clothes.  I made the long-sleeved, plain version because I thought it would suit me best.

It turns out I was worrying for no good reason!  It was nowhere near as challenging as I had expected.  It was harder to cut and the raw edges curved a little, but not so much that it was horribly distressing.  I found the neckline part a tad confusing – in fact, I did that bit wrong, but I managed to improvise and it all came together alright.  And I now understand what negative ease is.  Kind of.  One thing I loved about it was not needing to finish the raw edges.  Major bonus!  It knock so much time off your sewing.

I sewed the entire top on my regular sewing machine, but I’ll definitely make more (because I love it!) and I’ll pluck up the bravery to have a go at making one on my overlocker.  You know, when I’m less terrified of it!

I’d like to say a massive thank you to Zoe and Girl Charlee for holding the giveaway.  I’m chuffed to bits with my fabric.  It’s so soft and I love the pattern.  The great news is I have loads left over, so I’ll get at least one other garment out of it.

Most importantly, I’m no longer scared of jersey!  🙂  I’ve had Tilly’s Coco pattern (and the fabric intended for it) stashed away for ages because I like it so much and don’t want to ruin it.  Now I can finally make it. 😀

8 thoughts on “Agnes top

Leave a Reply

