Advent Calendar

Merry Christmas, everyone!  I hope you’re all having an enjoyable festive season, filled with fun and laughter and food.  Let’s be honest, it’ s really mostly about the food.

I thought I’d use the next few posts to share some of the Christmas gifts I made for friends and family, now that I’m safe to do so.  Very few handmade gifts made it this year.  I must try to do better next year.  One of the few lucky recipients this time around was my nephew.  Instead of getting  ‘big’ present for him to open on Christmas Day, I had the idea of making him an advent calendar to use throughout December.

I had this idea at the end of October/beginning of November, leaving me very little time to plan and make, so I used a fabric I knew would behave – felt.  I knew that if I made 25 pockets the same size I wouldn’t have a hope of lining them all up nicely, so to make things easier (and because I’m lazy) I just made them all different sizes. Each pocket has its own felt decoration to hang off the buttons on the tree.  I even made a star to put at the top of the tree.  I put a square of Velcro on the back so it would stick.  Although I stitched on all the pockets, buttons and tree, I simply stuck the decorations together with fabric glue.  Aiden is still only five, so I couldn’t guarantee how gentle he would be with them.  Even though Aiden is usually very good, I didn’t want to spend lots of time hand stitching the decorations in case they got ruined.  At some point in the future I may upgrade them to stitched ones.

The important thing is Aiden loves it!  When he opened it he had a huge smile on his face and said, ‘Wow!  That looks really good!’  I’ve been assured by both my brother and sister-in-law that it’s been a roaring success.  Apparently, it was the first thing he wanted to do each morning and he gave proper thought into where he’d put the decorations.  He’s such a cutie!

4 thoughts on “Advent Calendar

Leave a Reply

