Milla Mia hat and mittens

Anyone else feeling the cold lately?  Thank goodness for wool!

The pattern: Elika and Yumiko from the Milla Mia Finishing Touch book.

The yarn: Milla Mia Naturally Soft Aran (absolutely gorgeous stuff!), in Ochre and Marine Blue.

The cost: usually around £5.50 per ball, but I think Woolaballoo were offering 25% off when I got mine.  I used four balls in total so instead of £22 I spent £16.50.  The book was also reduced, £9 down from £12, but there are so many great patterns in there so it was well worth the money.

I made the Elika mittens first (they’re actually called wrist warmers in the book).  The stitch pattern is created with cables.  If you’ve never knitted cables before, it’s uber-addictive.  You get some really nice results with very little effort.  Then I made the Yumiko hat – it’s a bit more complicated, but much easier than it looks, I promise.  I adapted the pattern so I could knit it in the round.  To do this, you just need to cast on two fewer stitches, join in the round and ignore the first and last stitch on each row.  Then, instead of purling every other row you just knit it.  I taught myself how to use the magic loop knitting method (loads of videos on YouTube), which is fabulous – my new favourite thing.  I used my leftover ochre yarn to make a lovely, full pompom to go on top (it used up almost all of the ochre I had left!).  Lovely 🙂

In other knitting news, I just started the Vianne cardigan from Untangling Knots.  It’s very early days yet and it requires a bit of concentration, but I’m managing.  I’m using Sirdar Country Style DK in yellow, which I picked up for the absolute bargain price of £1 per ball at the Knitting and Stitching Show in Harrogate last November (I forget which shop).  Given that I’ve recently stopped buying clothes, I thought I’d better learn how to knit some cardigans.

One thought on “Milla Mia hat and mittens

Leave a Reply

