Refashioned 70s Skirt

A few months ago, my friends and I found a vintage 1970s dress in a vintage shop in Sunderland (i’m very sorry, I don’t remember which shop).  It didn’t quite fit me right 😦  So I made (yes, made!) my friend try it.  That fabric – I didn’t want to let it go.  It fitted Rachel perfectly, but we both agreed the fabric was a bit over the top for a maxi dress.  A plan was hatched – Rachel would shorten the dress to just above the knee and I would get the leftovers and attempt to make a skirt.

Ta-da!

I didn’t have very much fabric to work with, so it’s a very simple mini (as mini as I’d ever go to be honest), but I think the style works really well with the print.  I actually love it, despite it bordering on indecent 🙂

The pattern: from Fashion with Fabric (from the Great British Sewing Bee).  It’s the lace pencil skirt hacked into an a-line mini.  You take the pencil skirt pattern, shorten it a little and taper out the sides.  It was super quick and easy, so it gets a massive thumbs up from me.  I’ll definitely use it again (but I’ll probably make it a little longer).

Modifications: facing/lining the skirt instead of binding the top.  Basically, I cut out the exact pattern again (a little shorter) to make a lining, sewed them right sides together, turned them out and gave everything a really good press – a lining and facing all in one.  I don;t know whether this is strictly a recommended technique, but it seems to have worked.  Also, the vintage dress had a seam down the back that I had to work with, so I went ahead and inserted my zip in the back seam instead of at the side (and of course, I had to adjust my paper pattern accordingly for cutting my fabric).

The cost: actually, this ended up costing me very little.  Rachel was kind enough to give me the bottom of the dress for free (though it cost her £15).  I had to buy a zip and a small amount of lining fabric – I’d guess that I parted with no more than £5.  Bargain!  😀

So there you go – another unwanted garment rescued.  Sadly, I don’t have a picture of Rachel’s dress, so you’ll have to settle for an outtake from my photos.  It’s hard taking photos when it’s windy.  I think my face says it all…

Leave a Reply

