Everest Socks

You’re probably thinking the season for knitting socks is over, right?  Ordinarily I’d agree, but given the weather we’ve had recently – snow, hail, gale force winds – snuggly socks seem just the thing.  But the real reason I’ve been knitting unseasonably warm socks is that a friend of mine climbing Everest as I write.  That’s right.  Everest!  Wowzer.  Obviously she needs a pair of nice hand knitted socks to keep her feet toasty while she’s on her trek.

Can you imagine climbing Everest?!  What an incredible achievement.  I’m so proud!  Becky has raised an incredible amount of money for a fantastic cause, and in a couple of weeks she’ll be able to say, ‘I did it, I climbed Everest!  [And I got these cool socks.]’

The pattern: Hermione’s Everyday Socks, by Erica Lueder on Ravelry.  I really enjoyed knitting these – I like the textured stitch pattern and the way the heel is knitted makes it really sturdy.

Modifications: I didn’t make any changes to the pattern, but I did use just one circular needle (and the magic loop method), rather than two as the pattern suggested.  It seemed just as easy that way.

The yarn: I’m afraid I can’t remember the exact name of this yarn, and I seem to have misplaced the ball band, but I’m fairly certain it was a Woolcraft 4 ply.  I think it was part wool, part acrylic, but I can’t remember the exact percentages.  I bought it at Woolaballoo.

The cost: it’s a secret, as they were a gift 🙂

Leave a Reply

