Darling Ranges Bee Shirt

As soon as I clapped eyes on this fabric, I knew I had to buy some.  Isn’t it wonderful?  It’s such a happy fabric!

I adore this shirt!  I knew I’d love it before I even started sewing.  It’s like the fabric and pattern got together and made the perfect baby 🙂

The pattern: Darling Ranges from Megan Nielsen.  I chose the shirt variation (obviously).  I really had fun sewing this – it was fairly simple and the instructions are great.  I love the way the neckline is finished.  There are no darts, nothing to interface or stabilise, and because it has a smocky shape I didn’t even have to grade the pattern down from the bust to fit it – no fuss at all.  I made life a tad harder for myself because I wanted a line of bees sitting perfectly matched down the centre front.  Check it out, guys!  Nearly perfect!


Modifications: the only thing I changed was the placement of the buttons, because I didn’t want to sew over any of my bees.

The fabric: a really nice cotton poplin from Fabric Godmother.  Sadly, I think they have sold out now.

The cost: I bought the fabric with a voucher I got for my birthday, so that didn’t cost me anything 🙂  I bought the pattern as a PDF for around £8, I think.  The buttons were recycled from my striped dress – they work much better with this shirt, don’t you think?  I already had the thread I needed as well, so that means it really did only cost me £8 for the pattern 🙂  Another bargain make!

6 thoughts on “Darling Ranges Bee Shirt

Leave a Reply

