Whale Pyjamas

Does anyone else get a huge sense of satisfaction when you get to wear a matching pair of pyjamas?  I don’t know about you guys, but more often than not I end up wearing completely mismatched pyjamas.  Usually it’s because the tops or bottoms shrink (never both, for some inexplicable reason) or become curiously misshapen in some way.  Given my resolution not to buy clothes anymore, my pyjama situation is getting a bit desperate.  Luckily for me, I found the perfect fabric for pyjamas at the Knitting and Stitching Show in Edinburgh.


Aren’t they adorable?  I’m so pleased with them.  They’re perfect for these warmer months 🙂

The fabric: a lovely embroidered cotton from the Fabrics Galore stand – it’s on their website too.  I love this fabric – it hints at traditional grandpa pyjamas, but the embroidered whales and modern pattern give them a more contemporary feel.  I think they had some with little anchors on as well.

The pattern: I got this free with Simply Sewing magazine a while back.  It says the pattern is by the Makery, but I don;t think it’s available to buy on their website just yet.  You might find it on Etsy or eBay though.

Modifications: a couple, actually.  I don’t usually like to deviate away from patterns, but I’m glad I plucked up the bravery on this occasion.  I took one look at the paper pattern piece for the bust section of the bodice and knew there was no way I was going to get as much coverage as I’d like.  I added about an inch and a half to the length.  I simply moved the bottom seam down an inch and redrew the side seams.  I forgot (I don’t know how!) to add more length onto the back pattern piece, but luckily the channel for elastic is meant to be quite deep.  I just had to make a much narrower channel and use skinnier elastic, but it seems to have worked out alright.  If I were to make them again (which I probably will) I’ll put elastic in the shorts instead of ribbon, just so they’re easier to get on and off.

The cost: I got 2 metres of fabric at £8 per metre, so the fabric was £16.  I think Simply Sewing magazine is usually about £6 – let’s say the pattern cost half that much, because you tend to get a few patterns with a magazine.  I bought some grosgrain ribbon, but that can’t have been more than £1, and I already had the elastic.  Around £20 in total, then.

3 thoughts on “Whale Pyjamas

Leave a Reply

