Stash Update

Guys, it’s time for some serious stash-busting!  I have been vaguely aware for a while now that my stash has been getting bigger and bigger, and while I’m aware that compared to some I really don’t have big problems, I decided it was about time I plucked up the courage to go through it all.

It’s all thanks to Zoe, off of So, Zo… What Do You Know?, for putting me onto the Cora app in one of her recent posts.  You can see Zoe’s post for more information about it, but basically it allows you to take photos of your fabrics and input all the information relating to each piece, such as fabric type and length.  Sort of like cataloguing for dressmakers – librarian by occupation, librarian by nature.  Anyway, it’s awesome!  All you need to know about your stash on your phone to carry around at all times.  Great stuff 🙂


I discovered that I have 28 (gasp!) pieces of fabric large enough to make into something.  28 possible garments!  So, I am once again vowing not to buy any more fabric until I’ve made a notable dent in this lot.  I say this just as I’m planning my next trip to the Knitting and Stitching Show in Harrogate.  Must.  Stay.  Strong.  Until Harrogate, anyway.  There’s just no way I’m going to make it through a whole Knitting and Stitching Show without making at least one purchase, is there?

I have a few projects line up for my stash already.  In fact, I rarely buy fabric without at least having some ides of what I might make, so I can match most of my stash up with patterns.  So many lovely things to make, so little time!

There is just one thing I know I want to buy before Harrogate.  You see, I’m already talking myself out of this, am I not?!  I’m finally feeling brave enough to make my Papercut Patterns Watson Jacket.  Well, ‘brave enough’ might be stretching it a little – I’m feeling obliged to make it before another autumn and winter come and go.  I’m still terrified, but I really am going to have to attempt it sometime.  I’ve had the fabric since my trip to Harrogate last November, and my lovely friend very kindly gave me the pattern for Christmas last year.  I had high hopes of roaring through this make and getting some wear out of it last winter, but I took one look at the pattern and scared myself.  But it can’t sit around forever, and now I’m hoping to have it done for this autumn/winter.  I may have to toile this a couple of times, so the sooner I get started the better.  Anyway, the point of all this is that I’m going to need to buy fabric for the lining of said Watson Jacket.  Other than that, I’m going to try not to be tempted by any other fabrics.  Wish me luck – I’m going to need it for both the jacket and fabric abstinence!

7 thoughts on “Stash Update

  1. Well done for trying to get a hold on your stash before it gets even bigger. Mine has crept up to 46 pieces and I really need to rein it in.

    Good luck with your Watson jacket. I’m sure it’ll go fine.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. 46? Blimey! It does sneak up on you, doesn’t it? I didn’t think I had so many. Thanks for wishing me good luck — I’m hoping a toile or two will get me trough it without too much trauma. Loving your vlogs, by the way — keep them coming! ☺️

      Like

Leave a Reply

