Silk Cami hack

One of the many great things about sewing is that when your friends are having a clear out they often ask whether you want anything for refashioning purposes before heading to the charity shop.  That’s how this dress came to be.  A friend of mine gave me some clothes to look through and I came across an Aztec print maxi dress.  I’m too short for maxi dresses, as a general rule, but the gathered skirt had masses of fabric and I liked the print, so I knew I’d be able to make something out of it 🙂  It took a while to decide what I wanted to make – the fabric has quite a lot of drape so I knew it couldn’t be anything too structured.  Then, as I was packing for my holiday a few weeks ago I had that ‘Eureka!’ moment.  I wanted a simple shift/cami style dress to take away with me.

What do you think?  Pretty good, no?  It was nice and light for my holiday, but because it has black in the print I can wear it with black tights for work.  I’ve decided it’s still a tad too long though, so I’m going to take it up before I wear it again.  Serves me right for trying to be lazy and reusing the hem the first time around.

The pattern: a hack of the Sew Over It Silk Cami.  I love this pattern – there’s a front, a back and the facing, and that’s it.  It’s so easy and comes together really quickly.  Plus, I got to use the all in one armhole and neckline facing trick from the Sew Over It YouTube channel, which is possibly my favourite technique I’ve learned so far.

Modifications: just lengthening the pattern.  I didn’t even need to change the shape because the top is designed to be loose fitting at the hip anyway – I just continued in pretty much a straight line until it was the length I wanted.  Oh, and because I reused the hem it’s just straight at the bottom, whereas the original pattern has a curved hem.

The cost: I donated £10 to Mind, which was the charity my friend was choosing to give her clothes to.  I got three items though, so let’s say this cost me £3.33.  Can’t argue with that 🙂

It’s got me nicely in the mood for Portia Lawrie’s the Refashioners 2016!  Anyone else taking part?

Leave a Reply

