#therefashioners2016

My #therefashioners2016 project is finally finished 🙂 To tell you the truth, I finished it weeks ago – it’s just been waiting for its hem.  When I tried to hem it the first time my machine had a strop, so I threw it to one side for a while.

For those of you who don’t know, the Refashioners is the brainchild of Portia Lawrie from the Makery.  Each year, Portia chooses a garment and encourages the sewing community to transform said garment into something else.  Last year it was a button down shirt, and this year it’s the turn of jeans.

My ’70s style, paneled mini is by far the most boring transformation I’ve seen this year, but I knew I would wear it, and for me that’s the whole point of refashioning.  What’s the point in making something so crazy you’ll never wear it?  Anyway, even though it isn’t the most exciting refashion you’ll see, there was one thing about it that I found very exciting – flat felled seams.  I’ve never done them before, and I don’t think I’ve had a bad first go at it!  There are a couple of wobbly bits, but not so wobbly that I felt the need to unpick.  I’ve paired it up here with my dachshund Agnes top.

The fabric: cut from a pair of size 16 jeans found in a charity shop.

The pattern: the paneled skirt from the Simple Sew Chelsea collection, which came free with Love Sewing magazine a couple of months ago.  I don’t think it’s available to buy separately yet.

Modifications: my jeans weren’t wide enough to cut the back panel in one piece, so I ended up adding seam allowance and cutting two, giving me a centre back seam and an extra panel.  As I mentioned before, I had trouble with the hem – my sewing machine could not cope with a double turned hem on such thick denim, especially where the flat felled seams were involved.  In the end, I just overlocked the bottom and did a single turned hem.  Even that wasn’t good enough for me sewing machine – I have a couple of skipped stitches and it was making some truly horrendous noises.  I’m actually quite worried that I won’t be able to make jeans on my machine…

The cost: the jeans were £2.50 and I spent a couple of quid on some topstitching thread.  The buttons were from my stash.  With the cost of the magazine the pattern came with, I’d say about £10.

Thanks so much to Portia for hosting this again – I can’t wait for next year.

One thought on “#therefashioners2016

Leave a Reply

