Sew My Style – February

I have to be completely honest and confess that I was never a huge fan of February’s Sew My Style pattern – not because I didn’t like it, but because I knew it just wouldn’t suit me.  The shape isn’t right for my body.  Luckily, I knew just the girl to make it for – my sewing buddy, Rachel 🙂  As it happens, she had already made herself a Saunio cardigan, so I knew it would suit her and that she’d like it.  A plan was hatched – Rachel would buy some fabric and I would sew it up for her, so as to keep my involvement with Sew My Style going.  A few weeks later, this had happened!


Hello, Rachel!  Looking rather marvellous in her new jacket, isn’t she?  Don’t you agree it looks much more like a jacket than a cardi in this fabric?  It goes to show how versatile patterns can be.  You can see some photos of Rachel’s other Saunio here and here on her Instagram – you’d never know they were made using the same pattern.

Rachel says…
I recently made myself a Saunio out of some slightly mad Missoni wool – it’s one of my #2017makenine projects.  So when Vicki offered to make me a second Saunio for February’s #sewmystyle, I obviously said yes!

I decided I wanted this second Saunio to be a smart one I could wear to work, so I bought some navy Italian boiled wool from Fabric Godmother and gave it to Vicki, along with my traced pattern pieces and my Saunio toile.

And I absolutely love the Saunio Vicki’s made for me!  The boiled wool makes it more structured than my Missoni Saunio and makes a real feature of the back.  Also, the wool’s texture means that I can wear the cardigan closed without needing a fastening.  And my favourite thing about it is that Vicki (knowing my love of hand-finished garments) blind-stitched all around the hems and the facing so it looks really perfect from the outside.

Thanks, Vicki!  And you know, if there are any other #sewmystyle makes that aren’t your thing, I’m open to suggestions…

I guess you could say Rachel’s pleased with her cardi then!  I’m so pleased you like it, Rachel 🙂

The pattern
The Saunio Cardigan by Named Clothing.  My goodness do I wish this pattern suited me!  I could do with some new cardies and it was sooooo fast to make!  I think the cutting and sewing (well, most of the sewing – more on that in a minute) took about two hours.  Magic!  The instructions are a breeze to follow and the construction is possibly the easiest I’ve ever come across.  Bravo, Named Clothing!  Thumbs up from me.

Modifications
As Rachel has already explained, I chose to hand-finish the hems and facings.  The nature of the fabric makes this necessary.  Machine stitching would leave an unsightly ridge all the way around the garment, so I lovingly hand-finished with a blind hem stitch because I knew that was what Rachel would have done.  This took longer than all the other sewing and cutting combined, but the finished look is well worth the effort.  I didn’t use any interfacing, as the fabric is thick and stable enough to hold its own.  I also used a straight stitch, rather than zigzagging or overlocking as the pattern suggests.  The fabric has very little stretch and the pattern is loose-fitting, so I’m hoping it’s be okay.

The fabric
A lovely boiled wool from Fabric Godmother.  I was a bit worried when I first got the fabric because it seemed so thick and I was worried about how my machine would cope.  However, it actually turned out to be lovely to work with – it is a very thick fabric, but its actually very soft and the machine had no trouble with it at all.

The cost
For me?  Not a penny 🙂  But it set Rachel back about £22.

P.S.  I was so right to make this for someone else.  I tried this on and looked like a right wally!

Leave a Reply

