Molly Top

Who doesn’t love a staple Breton striped top?  You can’t have too many of them, I feel – they’re perfect for casual jeans days and layering.

The pattern: the Molly top from Lisa Comfort’s My Capsule Wardrobe: City Break e-book.  This is only my second make from this book so far (following on from my Alex shirt), but I assure you I’ll be making it all at some point!  All the patterns are so beautiful, and they really do make a capsule wardrobe 🙂   This pattern couldn’t be an easier sew!  What makes it so easy is the sleeves.  They’re grown on at the cap and the length comes from adding the bottom half of the sleeve later on.  It’s added in the flat and the seam line is virtually straight – much easier than set in sleeves.  I think I sewed this top in a couple of hours – super speedy!  I also tried a new stitch on my sewing machine for the top stitching and I love it.  The only thing I will change next time is the size.  I think I could go down a sizer at least, especially if I want to try the dress version – I don’t want the dress to be too relaxed in fit.  Actually, now that I’m thinking about it, I bet this would be very easy to take in.  Hmmmmm…

The fabric: a lovely purple and cream stripe from Girl Charlee UK.  This fabric is super soft and comfortable.  I have a little left which will most definitely be used for something – I’m thinking the cropped Megan Nielson Briar tee for Sew My Style because it’s drapes nicely.

The cost: I got the fabric while Girl Charlee were having a sale, so it only cost £10.90 for two metres.  I already had everything else I needed 🙂  And as I say, I think I have enough left to squeeze another top out of it, so that’ll make it even more of a bargain.

3 thoughts on “Molly Top

Leave a comment